A Good Book (Sort of…Not Really) A Book Review

happy for you pic blogIn a world of picture perfect Facebook posts and pictures, the title of this book intrigued me. “I’m Happy for You (Sort of…Not Really)”. There are twelve cleverly titled chapters, such as “Obsessive Comparison Disorder” “The Danger of Yardstick Living” and “Dare We Not Compare” and discussion questions at the end of the book.  Sure wish I’d seen the discussion questions before I finished the last chapter.  Peer pressure crosses all boundaries; kids, teens, adults.   The premise Mrs Wyma comes with is that while we desire to be happy for others when blessings abound in their life we are more likely to be envious and discontent.  I’m not sure she really gives a solution, just cute little quotes, stories about how she encouraged her children when faced with peer pressure amid the comments about how incapable she is at mothering.

The author reminds us that discontentment comes from unrealistic comparisons. One chapter in particular talks about the glimpse” we get into lives. While that glimpse may look perfect, we have no idea what is going on outside of that one glimpse. Another, discusses the reality of being alone in a crowd. There are many quotes from famous and not so famous people. And the chapters are also filled with real life examples and conversations the author has had with her children and friends about the issue of discontented comparison.

Mrs. Wyma’s book starts slow, if you can get past the first chapter, she’s got some good thoughts.The book had few noteworthy things to consider but, there was nothing earth shattering or revolutionary. It might be good for your young adult but I believe there are better books to be read this summer.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

